Planning Commission

The Yelm Planning Commission advises the City Council on all planning and development issues.  The Commission is made up of seven citizen volunteers who are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.

The Commission works with staff in the Community Development Department to keep the Comprehensive Plan and all the elements of the plan up to date and consistent with the Growth Management Act and also helps staff ensure that the City’s development regulations always reflect the policies of the plan.

Yelm is lucky to have citizens who are committed to the development of the City and the Planning Commission reflects the diversity and knowledge of the residents. The Yelm Planning Commission meets the third Monday of each month, at 4:00 p.m., at the Yelm Public Safety Building. 

Current members of the Planning Commission are:

  • Jerry Fugich (since 2015)
  • John Graver, Chair (since 2005)
  • Robert Howard (since 2018)
  • Carlos Perez (since 2018)
  • Floyd Sheldon (since 2018)
  • John Thomson (since 1999)
  • Anne Wahrmund (since 2009)

Information about the commission can be found at Chapter 18.04 of the Yelm Municipal Code.  If you are interested in becoming a member of the Commission,  please fill out an application.  Applications will be kept on file until a vacancy occurs.