Arts Commission

05-Defining Yelm-Hayden FoglemanThe Yelm Arts Commission will serve as the City’s primary resource to promote and preserve our city’s unique community assets by providing public input, establishing policies and implementing art into City owned public spaces. 

The Arts Commission will identify and actively encourage the development and sustainability of all forms of art in the City, including paintings, sculptures, landscape architecture, music, literature, and other forms of art to enhance the overall beautification of Yelm.

To the extent possible the City shall seek representation on the commission from as many of the following arts and professions: painting, sculpture, music, literature, architecture, performing arts, tribal or city historian or volunteers who have an interest in artistic, tribal and cultural development of the City. 

Current members of the Arts Commission are:

  • Steve Craig
  • Mayra Pena 
  • Heidi Haslinger-Corl
  • Steve Harshfield 
The five members of the Commission are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to serve a four year term. 

More information about the commission can be found at Chapter 18.05 Yelm Municipal Code. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Commission,  please complete an application.  

Photo by: Hayden Fogleman, Yelm High School